4th Annual Chicago Literary HOF Induction Ceremony

4th Annual Chicago Literary HOF Induction Ceremony

Join the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame on Saturday, December 7, as our invited guest at our 4th Annual Induction Ceremony hosted at Roosevelt University’s Ganz Hall, 430 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago. This event is free and open to the public. You will be treated to a night of socializing, quality entertainment, and lasting memories as you help us recognize the important contributions of the Hall of Fame’s fourth class of inductees:

  • L. Frank Baum
  • Leon Forrest
  • Edna Ferber
  • Ben Hecht
  • John H. Johnson
  • Thornton Wilder

Elysabeth Alfano, host of The Dinner Party, will emcee this year’s event,
which features presentations by:

Blue Balliett: Former Chicago Tribune’s Chicagoan of the Year for Literature and bestselling author of five young adult mysteries; Chasing Vermeer, The Wright 3, The Calder Game, The Danger Box and Hold Fast.
Rosellen Brown: Author of ten books including five novels. Her stories have appeared frequently in Best American Short Stories, O. Henry Prize Stories and Pushcart Prize.Thomas Dyja: Author of the Third Coast: When Chicago Built the American Dream, winner of the Chicago Tribune’s Heartland Prize for non-fiction, as well as three novels,Play for a Kingdom, Meet John Trow, and The Moon in Our Hands.Richard Hunt: Internationally renown sculpture, whose work can be found in numerous museums, including the Art Institute of Chicago, the National Gallery and National Museum of American Art in Washington, DC, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Museum of Modern Art in New York.Penelope Niven: Critically acclaimed author of Carl Sandburg: A Biography; Steichen: A Biography; and Thornton Wilder: A Life.

Performances will be given by:

David EigenbergStar of NBC’s drama Chicago Fire and former star of  the Emmy-winning series Sex and the City.

Lynne JordanWorld-wide performer whom the late Chicago film critic Roger Ebert declared his “favorite diva.”

Marco Maltbia: Poet, author, songwriter, singer, producer, community activist and minister known to many as “Marco The Poet,” and one of the first poets ever to be nominated for a Stellar Award.

Joe Meno:  Winner of the Nelson Algren Literary Award, the Great Lakes Book Award, and the Society of Midland Author’s Fiction Prize as well as a finalist for the Story Prize.

Strawdog Theater and Access Contemporary Music: Reprising their musical production of Ben Hecht’s Dapper Pete and The Sucker Play.

Acceptances by:

Bob Baum: Great grandson of L. Frank Baum
Marianne Forrest: Widow of Leon Forrest
Julie Gilbert: Grand niece of Edna Ferber, commenting via videotape
David Spadafora: President of the Newberry Library, holder of the Hect papers
Charles Schwartz: Friend of the Ferber family
Tappan Wilder: Nephew of Thornton Wilder

To learn more about the host of this event, visit the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame’s website at www.chicagoliteraryhof.org.

About jordanandmarks

We completely immerse ourselves in a client's business and industry to accurately identify marketing opportunities and challenges. Jordan & Marks Enterprises then implements creative and powerful advertising strategies, enabling our clients to build their brand, generate results and become market leaders. Jordan & Marks Enterprises combines talented and experienced individuals who possess an understanding of our client's business and how they produce profits with a passionate and personable work ethic. Helping clients achieve or maintain a leadership role in their market has been the driving force behind Jordan & Enterprises' successful track record.